Practical as in could the class material actually be applied to designing or building circuits. Or is it more like learning about the 0's and 1's of how computers work, only to later find out that programming is done with higher level syntax?

asked 07 Apr '12, 18:17

airus's gravatar image

airus

In a word: yes.

In more words:

The following is relatively subjective. I am not a professional electrical engineer, only an amateur roboticist. That said, I've previously studied circuits and I've been taking the 6.002x class for kicks (and a refresher on circuit basics, which turned out to be more needed than I realized!), so I feel I can comment.

In my opinion, the subject matter covered in this class is necessary if you plan to design analog circuits. (For instance, any circuit involving temperature sensors, humidity sensors, microphones, radio, motors, servos, ...) Normally a class of this type has a physical lab component where you are building actual circuits; in the MITx course this has been replaced with a virtual lab, which I actually find pretty ingenious.

If you are only interested in building logic circuits, you may be able to get by without some of this knowledge; you may also be able to get by if you simply plan to build circuits from schematics that have been provided to you... until one of your circuits isn't working the way you expect and you have to debug it, at which point you'll find it difficult without a good way of determining the "expected" behaviors of various points in the circuit.

The flip side of this is that when you do "real" circuit design, you will mostly be using larger components, like (at a minimum) op-amps, transistors or pre-fabricated sensors/actuators. So, this material isn't sufficient for designing analog circuits.